Car accidents have the potential to cause serious injuries, even death. However, after a minor car crash, you might walk away without any injuries. But, after a few days, you might notice a few symptoms like pain, dizziness and headaches. Many people feel that these symptoms will go away over time. However, this isn’t the case and can be putting them at risk of long-term injuries. For example, untreated soft tissue damage can cause mobility issues and chronic headaches. However, there is another reason why you should visit a car accident chiropractor after discovering these symptoms. That’s because you could be risking the ability to make a personal injury insurance claim.
Florida has a 14-day rule for a personal injury insurance claim. This means that to claim medical expenses you need to visit a medical professional like a doctor or chiropractor, within 14 days of the crash. If you do, the insurance company needs to cover at least 80 percent of your related medical bills. However, if you wait for longer than 14 days, this obligation doesn’t exist, giving the insurance company the right to refuse your claim. There are a few reasons why this law was introduced. First, it protects insurance companies from false claims. For example, someone might have an accident at home and try to blame it on a car accident they had two months before. In addition, it encourages people to get medical attention as quickly as possible. This is important, especially for soft tissue injuries, which are easiest to treat when they are diagnosed early. For this reason, you should go to a doctor and chiropractor after an accident, even if you don’t think that you have sustained any injuries. The doctor can diagnose any broken bones or internal bleeding while a chiropractor can spot any soft tissue damage that you may have sustained. Let’s look at some of the ways a chiropractor might try to treat your soft tissue injury.
Chiropractors can use a combination of methods like massage, spinal manipulation and active therapy to treat your injuries. They can also use MLS laser therapy, which is a new technology that is having great results. This machine works by promoting cell growth, helping you recover faster. It also lowers the amount of pain that you experience. The chiropractor will adjust their methods to suit your needs, helping you overcome your injuries quickly. If you make the appointment within 14 days of the accident, the law doesn’t care which medical professional you consult. This allows you to do some research online to find the best doctor and chiropractor for your needs.
It can take a few days before the symptoms of soft tissue damage begin to appear. However, as we discussed, Florida law only gives you 14 days to contact a doctor if you want to make an insurance claim for your medical expenses. For this reason, we recommend going to see a car accident chiropractor in Pompano Beach after the car crash. So, book an appointment with us today.